PDA

View Full Version : Need help: UNIX network, server, and mainframe info

Phatfiddler
April 23rd, 2007, 07:40 PM
So, I have secured a position with Northrop Grumman in Florida, USA. A lot of the information that I will use and process is based entirely on UNIX; no Windows what-so-ever. I have a general understanding Linux and can make my way around, but I have never worked with a pure UNIX system before. What books, sites, or information would you recommend so that I won't be entirely lost when I get there? Also, what are the similarities between Linux and Unix? I know they are related, but really have no idea other than that.

Thanks in advance!

dca
April 23rd, 2007, 07:47 PM
If it's a mission critical server/mainframe it probably runs AIX on an IBM RS-6000 or some biggy refrigerator sized dealie...

http://www-03.ibm.com/servers/aix/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AIX_operating_system

mips
April 23rd, 2007, 08:06 PM
You could also download & install OpenSolaris & FreeBSD etc to get a bit more familiar with them are they are unixes

Compucore
April 23rd, 2007, 08:10 PM
Mips you mean Sun solaris 10 from Sun Microsystems?

Compucore

You could also download & install OpenSolaris & FreeBSD etc to get a bit more familiar with them are they are unixes

mips
April 23rd, 2007, 08:19 PM
Mips you mean Sun solaris 10 from Sun Microsystems?

Compucore

Apologies, YES that is what I mean. I have the DVD set which I have not tried yet.
http://www.sun.com/software/solaris/

koenn
April 23rd, 2007, 08:32 PM
It all depends on what the job contents is. If it's like "just any job, but they happen to use applications that run on Unix" - say, you're a bookkeeper and you'll be using a financial/bookkeeping/accountancy application - all you have to worry about is getting to know the applications. You'll get a user account and a /home just as on Linux, and that's all you'll ever need to know.