PDA

View Full Version : Let's talk about jabber / jingle

Helmi
April 23rd, 2007, 10:25 AM
Hi,

i thought talking a bit about jabber and especially the jingle / jingle audio extension to the xmpp protocol would be a good idea.

Does anyone already have a stable jingle-setup running under ubuntu and doing regular calls to other jabber/jingle users (especiall gtalk).

I think jabber is one of the greatest stuff in open source world and definitely should get more attention. As for now attention is growing - thanks to google (gtalk), imified.com and other services utilizing jabber more an more and bringing it to a big community - but in my eyes it's still and underdog regarding software clients. Unfortunately i'm not a coder so my possibilities to actively support development are kinda limited.

What do you think is the reason projects like gaim, psi (with very limited jingle approaches yet) or jabbin are so stuck or slow in development? Is Jabber not widespreaded enough yet? Do we probably have to do some more community marketing for jabber to make it more popular and attract more developers this way?

i think it's time to end the era of propietary messaging ;)

fsf@rula
April 24th, 2007, 11:14 AM
I am definitely with you on this one! There is no jingle-enabled jabber program right now in Ubuntu Feisty, not sure about Kubuntu.
I am very sad about this too, as all of my family would joyfully move away from skype as soon as a non-proprietary software has voip capabilities. They already use jabber for text communication, voip through juingle would be a great addition!

Helmi
April 24th, 2007, 09:13 PM
wow - one reply only. Probably this is the reason for the lag of jabbin capable clients: There's just no interest in it. :(

@fsf: thanks for your opinion.

Bloodfen Razormaw
April 24th, 2007, 10:46 PM
I use Jabber almost exclusively. Kopete supports jingle, but I never use it myself and I don't believe Debian compiles in support for it anyway.

Noah0504