PDA

View Full Version : OpenSource in Latin America

gashcr
April 20th, 2007, 07:38 PM
I am very new in the linux world, as I have barely been using ubuntu for a month( my very first distro). I am more than pleased, and looking forward to get more people involved. All this open source philosophy makes me think that open software is just what countries like Costa Rica, in my case, should promote in order to reach a good technological development in the biggest part of society, I mean, the poor and low middle class sectors. Due to the lack of resources of the major part of population, they are unable to pay those ridiculous prices for a software license, even less for a mac system ( a far far dream for the average ). I really see that most people over the internet complains about linux system because of minimal issues ( I cannot get 3d accel, cannot play TV, cannot play my videogames, bla bla bla ). For all those people who prefer to stay in win just to have its entertainment issues solved... please, donīt complain about opensource... as in some parts of the world, as I see it, where we just want to be productive in a competitive world, without being forced to pay for our right to improve, opensource solutions rules!! I hope someday my country will turn the opensource way, and I encourage all the Latin Americans in this forums to do their part in promoting opensource a way for the development of our countries.

luizfar
April 20th, 2007, 07:58 PM
Actually it is already reality in some countries.
Brazilian government is supportive to the open source ideas, and many of governamental companies are using this kind of software nowadays.

Toadmund
April 20th, 2007, 08:12 PM
That's what is needed, another revolution, seems countries like South America is where interesting things are happening, politically, and now technologically.

Up here in North America, we are too complacent and set in our ways.

Hex_Mandos
April 20th, 2007, 08:39 PM