PDA

View Full Version : Feisty Poll

Guns90
April 20th, 2007, 12:17 PM
I'm trying to find out just how good feisty is. I've never done a poll before. Hope this works.

Big_J
April 20th, 2007, 12:22 PM
This isn't exaclty a poll, but here goes
I HATE FEISTY!!
I wasn't even trying to upgrade to it, and somehow a security update for Edgy released with it completely destroyed my edgy.

wizardofyendor
April 20th, 2007, 12:35 PM
Feisty is great!!!, it's much faster then edgy on my box. It even works with pSX (playstation one emulator) that wouldn't work in edgy (sound underrun errors). I've had no complaints.

I don't recommend an upgrade though... I was running the Official Nvidia drivers with XGL, and during the upgrade everything related, to Nvidia and Mesa3D failed to upgrade. then after reboot, I had to title bars on any windows O_o... but after a backup, fresh install of feisty, then a restore, I couldn't be happier.

(note it's always best to partition your self, and give around 10-20 gigs just to the home directory. makes backup and restores easier.

OmniCloud
April 20th, 2007, 12:37 PM
Yeah I agree with the user above, I don't recommend an installation from the update manager if you have heavily customized your Ubuntu with stuff like Beryl and what not. But if your an average user, it's definitely an improvement. 3D desktop is standard as well as the wiggly pages....Some more surprises will surface I'm sure.

wizardofyendor
April 20th, 2007, 01:12 PM
One thing I've noticed is when I enabled desktop effects (compiz) it was slower in feisty then it was in edgy. I tried it with the default video driver, the restricted video driver in the repos, and the official nvidia driver. I believe compiz and feisty by default uses ALGX and not XGL, and I know in edgy I was running XGL. is ALGX slower on nvidia cards then XGL?

Emx
April 20th, 2007, 01:15 PM
I'm upgraded to Feisty for more than two months, and I've never experienced any problem at all.

wipeout140