PDA

View Full Version : Why do you use that awful O/S?

Chowderpilot
April 19th, 2007, 02:36 AM
The question in the subject line was a question posed to me by one of my co-workers the other day when I installed the 7.04 beta on my Dell D810 laptop. Perhaps some of you can relate to the adversity that results from fear of change or lack of education on the matter. Hopefully what I say here can help you not necessarily "defend" Linux and Open Source Software, but to educate them and eliminate misconceptions many people have.

He continued "It looks a lot like windows...." He is a sales guy, and I'm an engineer, so already we speak two different languages when it comes to technology (you engineers and developers out there know what I"m talking about!). He was basically attempting to dismiss it as a Windows clone or "wannabe". I informed him that after already having had XP installed, and then giving Vista a try I was not satisfied with either O/S, and that there are other choices out there. Ubuntu is my O/S of choice. I continued to inform him that I didn't mind XP however, I had serious concerns about security, and with Vista, I found that my fairly well equiped D810 laptop was not powerful enough (even though it's less than a year old) to handle Vista.