PDA

View Full Version : Linux and Jobs

makinasvp
April 16th, 2007, 07:16 AM
Just wondering what you guys do for a living...
I'm a tech support for GoDaddy.com. We register domain names and offer web hosting.

makinasvp
April 16th, 2007, 07:17 AM
By the way, reason why I made this thread is simply because I am starting to learn Linux (Ubuntu specifically), and wanted to know if it's worth it. I want to know that someday, all this education would pay off with a better job... :)

NikoC
April 16th, 2007, 07:18 AM
I'm currently working on my Phd in Biology, thus having more than enough time for learning a new OS :P

chakkaradeep
April 16th, 2007, 07:21 AM
I am currently doing my second Masters :) . Currently doing my Masters in Computer Science at University of Otago , NZ. And yes, my project is on Linux :D

FoolsGold
April 16th, 2007, 08:04 AM
I am also doing a Masters (my first, not crazy enough do a second yet). :)

It involves FPGAs, VHDL, UDP, PCBs, and various other arconyms.

makinasvp
April 16th, 2007, 08:16 AM
I sure wish I was a genius like you guys... lol

TheLive1
April 16th, 2007, 08:28 AM
Yeah I wish I had degrees too. Only have HS diploma + college classes + short courses. Unfortunately during my youth I never took classes seriously. I want to go back and actually get more qualifications but work's taking a lot out of me and I only want to enjoy my evenings/weekends.
Fortunately I (finally for the 1st time in life) lucked out and today working as an Office IT Systems Mgr for an International Firm in the Construction industry at a project in Dubai.

danny_J
April 16th, 2007, 08:32 AM
I work at Volvo IT as a Unix / Tivoli technician.. and have been using Linux since -96

karellen
April 16th, 2007, 08:48 AM
I'm currently working on my PhD in Computer Science, hope that this summer it will be all over :D

makinasvp
April 16th, 2007, 09:10 AM
I'm currently working on my PhD in Computer Science, hope that this summer it will be all over :D