PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever considered UbuntuCE?

Steve H
April 15th, 2007, 10:33 PM
I have been using Ubuntu (Edgy) for a couple of months now and I am upgrading to Feisty as I type this. I am very impressed by the community spirit of the Ubuntu forums and all you guys that help each other. So far you have all, in one way or another, found answers to all my questions concerning my ¨transition¨ from WiinDoze and I thank you all.

But I still have a few sticky points when it comes to committing fully to this beautiful OS. The problems I´m having are mostly concerned with ¨syncing¨ with other devices. Notably my IPAQ (Windows CE) and my Symbian S60 based Phone.

Now don´t get me wrong, I am currently and successfully syncing using Multisync for my Ipaq, yet I cannot sync with my Nokia N70 (curses!). This does not bother me (much), honestly. But it has made me think.....

HOW HARD WOULD IT BE TO MAKE UBUNTU_CE?

Now I know there is the Familiar Linux Project, but I wondered, would it not be easier to sync with devices that are running ¨Compact Editions¨ of Ubuntu? Familiar seems good, but I am one of those people who would like to see the Ubuntu logo pop up, with a familiar (not ¨Familiar¨) desktop and icons.Is this possible? If so, how do i get involved, Come on people....Let´s dream.......lets put Ubuntu on EVERYTHING.....

kairu0
April 15th, 2007, 10:38 PM
UbuntuCE is already taken (by Christian Edition.) May I suggest PalmuntuOS? :P

Steve H
April 15th, 2007, 10:48 PM
Yeah, Ubuntu Christian Edition isn´t really my thing (or what i meant).....but thanks for the reply. Palmuntu seems to be Spanish (well, it is when i Google it)

josephus
April 15th, 2007, 11:14 PM
how about μbuntu (micro-ubuntu)?

AndyCooll
April 15th, 2007, 11:39 PM
I vaguely recall there being something called Ubuntu Lite. Is that still going?

:cool:

KiwiNZ
April 15th, 2007, 11:44 PM
I vaguely recall there being something called Ubuntu Lite. Is that still going?

:cool: