PDA

View Full Version : Is linux really safer than windows?

Praill
April 12th, 2007, 11:15 PM
If I envision a world where linux is the main-stream OS, I also envision a world where the problems in windows are duplicated over to linux.

Say I am a software developer looking for a way to install spyware on a linux-users computer. It would be easy.
I could write a bash script that say.. set up someones wireless.. or configured their totem player to play all formats. These operations would, of course, require the user give me their root password and then I have full access to the system.
I could now add my own malicious repositories to their APT and install whatever I wanted from it. Also, if I ever want to change what is installed on their computer.. I have APT's nice little update interface to do it in.

For the non-tech user, it seems to me that linux is at least as spyware prone as windows.

FuturePilot
April 12th, 2007, 11:32 PM
That's the thing though. If it's open source then anyone could look at the code and someone would notice something malicious in it. And it would be impossible to get it into a repo without someone noticing malicious code. I just do see that being possible.

aysiu
April 12th, 2007, 11:32 PM
Yes, if a user is stupid enough to install anything and give away her password for anything, then system security means nothing. Read more here:
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/security

aysiu
April 12th, 2007, 11:34 PM
That's the thing though. If it's open source then anyone could look at the code and someone would notice something malicious in it. And it would be impossible to get it into a repo without someone noticing malicious code. I just do see that being possible.
It doesn't have to be in a trusted repository. It could be in a third-party repository.

It doesn't even have to be in a repository. It could just be a .deb file. Download it, double-click it, enter your password... now that .deb can do anything it wants.