PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu's whys & wherefores

Kay The Bantu
April 12th, 2007, 03:53 PM
1. how long have you been using ubuntu?
2.what were you using before?
3.why ubuntu?

for me i've been using ubuntu for 4 months now, i used fedora core 6 and ms before then, why ubuntu? why not? so what about you?

Brunellus
April 12th, 2007, 04:05 PM
I've been running Ubuntu since November/December 2004.

I was using SuSE 9.10 Personal before, and before that Microsoft WinME.

I wanted apt/deb. I wanted a reasonably up to date system. I wanted GNOME by default. I was fed up with SuSE 9.10, RPM and dependency hell.

PartisanEntity
April 12th, 2007, 04:06 PM
Been using Ubuntu since October 2006. I chose Ubuntu because it was recommended to me by a friend and upon trying out the Live CD I was impressed with the ease of installation.

Before I was using Windows XP.

karellen
April 12th, 2007, 04:12 PM
I use ubuntu (constantly) since spring of 2006
Before I used fedora core 5/windows xp (dual boot)
I use ubuntu because it's stable, fast, has a large and helpful community, huge repos, easy and reliable package management, frequent and up-to-date releases and, not the last, a very close-to-my-heart philosophy ("ubuntu")

bonzodog
April 12th, 2007, 04:24 PM
I used ubuntu from November 2005 - June 2006, when I switched to Zenwalk Linux. Before that , Slackware was my main OS, I ditched it because of it's lack of gnome support, and running an old version of Xfce.

aysiu
April 12th, 2007, 04:34 PM
1. how long have you been using ubuntu? Since May 2005.
2.what were you using before? Mepis for a month, and Windows for over a decade before that (and MS-DOS before that).
3.why ubuntu? The community, the documentation.

Teh Dust
April 12th, 2007, 04:34 PM