PDA

View Full Version : My little Linux Rants:

jdhore
April 12th, 2007, 06:52 AM
Here's the first one i was about to post in a reply, but i thought this was a better venue (i'll be replying and posting the 2nd one as soon as i can find it on my HD):

When i was a SuSe 8/9.1/Red Hat 8 user, i was a total noob, plus there weren't too many good resources on the web for linux help so if i overwrote lilo or messed up X and was dropped to commandline on boot, i had to go through the painful 4-5 hour install to get things back to working...that and being stuck with crappy KDE back when Gnome sucked and the fact of i couldn't find any good alternatives to Windows apps or nano or decent package management turned me off of linux for a few years till i was told about Debian, nano, k3b, apt and the "new Gnome"... (if you're reading this, thanks again SquareGuy) ...well this has turned into too much of a rant.

jdhore
April 12th, 2007, 06:53 AM
This i posted a few (about 3 months ago to be exact) months ago in response to a blog entry called Linux Whines...it's not perfectly suited to be on it's own, but here it is: