PDA

View Full Version : Seriously thinking of running Linux Only

Azakus
April 12th, 2007, 03:57 AM
I've been using Ubuntu as my primary OS now for about 7 months, while dual-booting with Windows XP. At first, I was near even between them as I play games on Windows, and do general surfing on Linux. However, within the past few months, I've noticed that I don't really go on Windows at all any more. Actually, the last time I was on Windows was about 3 weeks ago, for some really mundane reason. So, I finally started to consider completely dumping Windows and running Ubuntu only. I'd love to hear any comments about anyone's own experiences finally dump Windows, or the one lone person screaming "DON'T DO IT!".

dfreer
April 12th, 2007, 03:58 AM
DON'T DO IT!!!!

kay, that's done.

mand0
April 12th, 2007, 04:05 AM
I've done it... I am still alive. I don't even miss the games anymore.

GuitarHero
April 12th, 2007, 04:06 AM
It doesnt really matter unless you have some idealistic opposition to dual booting. It never hurts to keep windows on there in case you need to run a windows only app and dont have time to get it to work under wine(or if it doesnt work with wine). Just dont go on windows anymore. Its the same as being all linux, just with a backup plan.

justin whitaker
April 12th, 2007, 04:09 AM
I'm Linux only, and I feel fine. I didn't even give up the games I was playing...but then I am a WoW addict, and that runs on toasters apparently. :D

matt_risi
April 12th, 2007, 04:12 AM
Gonna have to vote with the "Don't Do It" crowd. Never hurts to have Windows around, plus you have the benefit of having a freedom of choice. Dual-boot is the ultimate solution, makes your computer that much more capable and robust!

wuzzerd
April 12th, 2007, 04:14 AM
Go for it. I've never used it at home:D

maniacmusician
April 12th, 2007, 04:15 AM