PDA

View Full Version : (YACR2S) Yet Another Compelling Reason To Switch

elephant007
April 10th, 2007, 04:00 AM
I am a technician for a place that has over 5,000 computers. Today I was dispatched to a lab that had 8 computers that had the same problems (all running Windows XP) an error windows popped up with "svchost.exe -- application error the instruction at 0x745f2780 reference memory at 0x00000000. the memory could not be read"

Several of my fellow technicians insisted that it was a physical memory error and that I should change out the memory module, reluctantly I did and the error still occurred. After further investigation I discovered that this error was a sign of a corrupted WGA Tool. Now as most of us know WGA or Windows Genuine Authentication tool is Microsoft's way to verify that the operating system is a legit copy.
Long story short, I had to re-register 7 DLL's, stopped the Windows Automatic Update, rename the default 'softwaredistribution' directory, restart Windows Automatic Update, reboot the computer and then run the Windows Update manually. What a PITA!!!! Anyone else ran into this problem?

This is yet one more reason to switch to Ubuntu.
How many people have ever had problems with Update Manager corrupting their Ubuntu OS? I know that Microsoft Updates jacks up their operating systems often... whether it be hardware or software, some updates jack up their own operating system... Thanks for allowing me to vent!

WiseElben
April 10th, 2007, 04:08 AM
There have been several (or maybe just one, I don't remember) Ubuntu updates that destroyed system, but they were always quickly taken care of. What I hate the most about the Windows Updates is that it asked me to reboot every 5 minutes and I have to press "Remind me later" every time. Come on, I need to finish downloading my Ubuntu ISO first!

BarfBag
April 10th, 2007, 04:14 AM