PDA

View Full Version : Running eclipse with sudo - best practice?

rstoya05-lx
April 8th, 2007, 01:15 PM
Hi,
Eclipse crashes consistently for me when validating a web.xml file and trying to bring up the Sun license agreement dialog for caching the XSD. I've also confirmed if I start Eclipse with sudo it works fine. So is it a good idea (or advisable) to run Eclipse with sudo?

I've developed on Windows in the past where Eclipse, Java, Tomcat are installed in a local directory (a.k.a. C:\ drive). In Ubuntu I used the Synaptic Package Manager to install it for all users but that seems to require root privileges in some cases.

It doesn't seem right to have to use root privileges to start Eclipse. Or for that matter to be able to deploy web application projects to Tomcat. I am new to Ubuntu and would appreciate some advice.

Thanks!

cobray
April 8th, 2007, 07:54 PM
You should not run eclipse as root.

What probably happened is you ran eclipse as root and one of the config files was written to disk with root permission.
When you try to run it as non-root, you get this funky problem.

You need to reinstall eclipse.

I had this problem in the past with tomcat. Reinistalling tomcat fixed the problem for me.

cobray
April 8th, 2007, 07:56 PM
I forgot to mention I had alot of problems with the eclipse install from synaptic.

What I did was downloaded the eclipse sdk 3.2.2 from eclipse.org and untarred the file into my home directory.

Everything works great.

rstoya05-lx
April 8th, 2007, 10:00 PM
You should not run eclipse as root.

Yes, I feel the same way. Now I downloaded Eclipse 3.2.2 as well and unpacked it directly into my home directory. I suppose since I'm the only user on this machine it probably doesn't matter if the install is in a shared area or not. Or does it?

What probably happened is you ran eclipse as root and one of the config files was written to disk with root permission. When you try to run it as non-root, you get this funky problem.