PDA

View Full Version : A few C++ noob questions

khedron
April 7th, 2007, 11:21 PM
Hi everyone,

I am just learning C++. I have learnt C already, so this has not been too much of a shock to me.

However, I have a few questions that don't seem to be answered from looking at cplusplus.com or the tutorials I have found on the internet.

1. When I return a complex object from a function (i.e. not just an int, char or float) is it passed by value? I.e. could I write
#include <iostream>
std::string HWText ()
{
std::string s ("Hello World!");
return s;
}

int main (void)
{
std::cout << HWText() <<endl;
return 0;
}This should print the Hello World text and exit. I'm not on my dev machine atm, but I seem to remember getting reference to local variable warnings when I used such a construct. Maybe it's just because I declared my function as std::string& (I know this would be wrong), but I'd like to be sure on such an important concept.

2. Is there a way of quickly defining a nameless object? For example, would the function below be equivalent to the one shown in question 1?
std::string HWText ()
{
return std::string ("Hello World!");
}When I type this (not for a string actually, but for my own class) I get an error. Again, I'm not on my dev machine atm, so if you need to know the actual error and code, please ask.

3. If I have a derivative of a class, how can I declare this << operator overload for both of them? Could I do something like
class Error;
class InputError : public Error;
virtual std::ostream& operator << ( std::ostream&, Error& );
std::ostream& operator << ( std::ostream&, InputError& );
Thanks for your time.

DoubleQuadword
April 8th, 2007, 12:13 AM
Hi, in response to your questions:

1. Indeed, the function HWNext is returning an 'std::string' object as value.
2. Yes you can do that, and - by the way - you can do this too:

return "a string";

Since std::string has a constructor defined which takes a const char * as an argument.