PDA

View Full Version : What exactly makes a lightweight application... lightweight

aysiu
April 7th, 2007, 09:22 AM
I'm not a programmer. I don't understand how programs work. So if someone can explain this in plain English (layman's terms), that'd be great.

I have a slightly older laptop, and I use IceWM on it. I've found some of the lighter-weight applications (like Leafpad and XTerm) load up immediately (literally one second after I press the keyboard shortcuts for them) but normal-weight (not even that heavy) applications (like Gedit and Gnome-Terminal) take as long as 12 seconds to load up.

What exactly makes lightweight applications lighter and able to load up more quickly? Just curious.

vf514
April 7th, 2007, 09:33 AM
AFAIK:

If you don't have a lot of memory, the program doesn't have as much room to store its data. Logically, the longer a program has wait for memory to be freed, the slower it will run.
If you have a slow processor, the "instructions" of the program will take longer to process and carry out.

So a program dealing with large amounts of data or a lot of instructions to carry out will run slower on a computer with smaller amounts of memory or processing capabilities.

23meg
April 7th, 2007, 09:36 AM
Any combination of the below often can, but not necessarily does in every case:

- Having less features (as your text editor examples illustrate)
- Being written in a language that suits the task
- Being written in a language that has a fast execution speed
- Being compiled optimally
- Code being optimized

EdThaSlayer
April 7th, 2007, 09:37 AM
With lightweight the programmers probably mean:
1.It uses less libraries, so less memory is used (libraries are the "tools" that the programmer uses to make a program)
2.Uses less variables, and global variables are rarely used(global variables use far more memory and isn't that efficient)
3.Probably re-uses code, so overall there is less code(Object Oriented Programming can do this)