PDA

View Full Version : Time to converge?

iopo
April 5th, 2007, 04:10 AM
Hi everybody!

I installed Ubuntu about 3 month ago. I have no particular computer skills, but I'm doing a PhD in economics and I'm really interested in this form of technological improvement "patent free".

I did all by myself, no friend helping me. From the moment I decided to switch, to the one my computer became fully functional, I spent 3 month of hard work, 5 different installations and I lostall my data two or three times.

I found that the community and the Ubuntu developers are focusing their attention in two main directions: making the installation process the smoothest possible and providing the noobs with a lot of detailed How-To. These two things are great but they are not the only hurdle one has to jump when swithcing to Ubuntu. I would like to point out two other problems.

The first one: if you know what you need, you'll probably find an answer somewere. But what if you don't know what a 3D acceleration is? or you have no clue there are things called codecs? or you don't know that programs like compiz and beryl exist? Noobs needs not just answers, but also help in making questions!

The second and most important problem: almost completely lack of standards. For example, I first wanted to try out some linux distro and I knew nothing about it. Well, you can imagine that it took me weeks to choose Ubuntu and, trust me, I was about to give up many times! Then, once you choose a distro, you have to choose what programs to use. The only one that seems pretty common is Openoffice.org, but, other then that there are many mail client, many web browser. And the noob thinks: which one should I install? what are the differences? are they really so different? Since trying to figure all this things out takes time and a lot of effort, he just stays with Windows!