PDA

View Full Version : Microsoft is FORCED to show their code

lsutiger
April 5th, 2007, 02:47 AM
OK...I am pretty new to the concept of completely free software. I also understand the concept of a business model. For a court to force a company to reveal their 'tricks' is completely ludicrous!
See the article here! (http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/17953986/)
Many Linux developers charge for their services and I have no problem with that. They also do not share their source code. I understand that they have to make a living. I just think this is not the right decision.
Please add your input! I would like to know what the consensus is on this subject.

Adamant1988
April 5th, 2007, 02:54 AM
OK...I am pretty new to the concept of completely free software. I also understand the concept of a business model. For a court to force a company to reveal their 'tricks' is completely ludicrous!
Many Linux developers charge for their services and I have no problem with that. They also do not share their source code. I understand that they have to make a living. I just think this is not the right decision.
Please add your input! I would like to know what the consensus is on this subject.

Firstly, I would like to point out that Red Hat reveals all of their source code and is a very profitable company. Linux developers charge for their *services* you're right (although I would like you to name an instance of this) and charging for a service is fine. But, if they are releasing under the GPL they *have* to release their source code.

Free software can be very profitable, and it can be a lot of fun as a hobby as well. Traditional selling of boxed sets of software doesn't work well in the open source world is all, you have to be more creative.

hardyn
April 5th, 2007, 02:58 AM
yes... GPL does not jive with classic capitalism... but it does work.
its about the develpment of the science... not purly about money... its adademic in nature, and quite beautiful.