PDA

View Full Version : Power of Python

LaRoza
April 4th, 2007, 06:43 PM
Hello, I am new to Ubuntu and interested in learning Python.

UPDATE:

I learned it, and use it all the time.

pmasiar
April 4th, 2007, 07:34 PM
> What can one do with it?

Everything - it is Turing-complete :-) Real-time application are better done in C, but you can integrate C library calls using Python - or write whole app in Python, find 5% code taking 90% of the time, and recode that in C.

> What are its strengths
Easy to learn, develop, read, scales well to bigger problems. Simple is easy, hard is possible.
Flexible data structures. Libraries, community of developers. Shell to test out objects.

> and weaknesses?
Slower than traditional compiled language like C. It might not a an issue: ie for web-based database appliction, most time is used for data access, which is C library call anyway.

> Is it better than VBScript? I hope so.
Most people agree that Python is better. Multiplatform and open, and see strengths above.

> Why does it put so much emphasis on white space instead of {braces}?
Most big projects have coding standards, which recommend to use whitespace like Python, not rely on {braces}, so braces are redundant and might be misleading.

> I would like to learn this language,
http://learnpython.pbwiki.com/HowToStart

Good luck!

LaRoza
April 4th, 2007, 07:42 PM
Thanks. I will learn it.

However, {braces} are not redundant. What happens if I wanted to send the code in an e-mail, or copy it some where else and the formating is changed?

I must admit, I am used to ending statements with semi-colons; and using {braces}. It is just a preference though from using ECMAScript and C++.

dwblas
April 4th, 2007, 08:32 PM