PDA

View Full Version : Help! Blocking packages prevent system update!!

WalmartSniperLX
April 4th, 2007, 06:38 AM
Using:

localhost patrick # emerge --pretend --update --newuse world

I get:

[blocks B ] sys-apps/coldplug (is blocking sys-fs/udev-104-r12)
[blocks B ] <media-sound/esound-0.2.36-r2 (is blocking app-admin/eselect-esd-20060719)
[blocks B ] app-crypt/gnupg (is blocking app-crypt/gnupg-1.9.20-r3)
[blocks B ] >=x11-proto/xproto-7.0.6 (is blocking x11-libs/libX11-1.0.1-r1)
[blocks B ] <dev-python/pygtk-2.9 (is blocking dev-python/pygobject-2.12.3)
[blocks B ] app-admin/eselect-esd (is blocking media-sound/esound-0.2.36-r1)

I've looked around to figure out how to update and avoid the blocking packages but do not understand what they mean. Should I replace the blocking packages or should I emerge without the blocked packages? And how would I do it? Sorry, Gentoo noob here :lolflag:

zaratustra
April 4th, 2007, 07:43 AM
udev now has its own coldplug funcionality, so you can unmerge coldplug... one down:)
eselect-esd and esound: I have them both installed, so I can't see why are they blocking each other..
Oh now, I see some versions of packages that I don't even have in portage tree any more, so I would recommend you to sync again, and then try to emerge -uDN world again

WalmartSniperLX
April 5th, 2007, 03:41 AM
udev now has its own coldplug funcionality, so you can unmerge coldplug... one down:)
eselect-esd and esound: I have them both installed, so I can't see why are they blocking each other..
Oh now, I see some versions of packages that I don't even have in portage tree any more, so I would recommend you to sync again, and then try to emerge -uDN world again

Thanks for the reply. I was able to get udev installed after unmerging coldplug, but everything else (even after a sync) wont work. I just updated some /etc conf files. Im going to try again and post the outcome.

Ok yeah, same thing. Other than udev, the other packages are still blocked :S