PDA

View Full Version : Game idea for n00b

benthegreat1
April 1st, 2007, 12:13 AM
Hello all,

I'm fairly new to Ubuntu and Linux, but am loving it. I use to do a lot of programming under dos and windows, demos, small games, software 3d engines etc. And I'm amazed at how easy everything is in Ubuntu, and how everything just works.

Anyway, I was looking for something to program to get my skills up, I would love to do a small game to a finished level, with some simple ai and phisics. Just looking for some ideas.

wj32
April 1st, 2007, 12:18 AM
What language? C would be good for 3D games (you need a fast game) and engines, using OpenGL. For simple 2D games, use SDL.

benthegreat1
April 1st, 2007, 12:21 AM
Yeah, sorry I didnt say,
C or C++ are my favourites.

wj32
April 1st, 2007, 12:26 AM
To get basic C compiling going:

sudo apt-get install build-essential

To get the OpenGL headers: I don't know and can't be bothered finding out right now :).

samjh
April 1st, 2007, 01:53 AM
Anyway, I was looking for something to program to get my skills up, I would love to do a small game to a finished level, with some simple ai and phisics. Just looking for some ideas.

C/C++ is the established choice for AAA game development. But less for independents, although it is still a strong choice.

Java is accelerating fast in the independent gaming industry, and is the closest competitor to C/C++. It has also gained limited acceptance by established AAA developers. It's the dominant language for mobile games and is becoming increasingly popular for PC-based MMO or MMORPG games.