PDA

View Full Version : Question about Linux upgrades..

latebeat
March 30th, 2007, 12:54 PM
Hey guys,

I have a simple and hopefully not too dumb question for you :)

Say I've got dapper installed and I update my system with apt-get to all the latest software and patches and someone else has a new edgy install again updated to the latest patches why the systems aren't gonna be the same since both are updated to the latest software and patches? I mean what is the thing that differentiates the set-ups and the releases?

I'm sorry if the question is too naive but I'm new to linux and coming from windows the answer is not obvious to me. I mean windows 98 will never become windows 2000 with updates from microsoft because they are inherently different but what about Linux releases? Aren't all things the same with just different version numbers ? So why won't I be able to have a fully updated system (say edgy or feisty fawn?) when starting from dapper just by apt-get update or distupgrade?

l8bit

teaker1s
March 30th, 2007, 01:22 PM
your sources list will dictate what updates you get, if you wish to dist-upgrade then you will need to alter sources and correctly dist-upgrade to avoid disaster.
if you find your ubuntu is doing all you want and there are no new features you must have-I'd advise not upgrading and risking breaking it

mips
March 30th, 2007, 01:45 PM
So why won't I be able to have a fully updated system (say edgy or feisty fawn?) when starting from dapper just by apt-get update or distupgrade?

You will have a fully updated system if you use thr distribution upgrade feature. You have to change your sources list file to use the Edgy repositories if you are currently using Dapper. Once the sources list file is updated you can dist upgrade to Edgy. From Edgy you can do the same to get to Feisty.