PDA

View Full Version : Big Qt install issues and other rants...

msikka
March 28th, 2007, 03:31 AM
Hi all, I was all happy the first time I installed Ubuntu a few days back. But all that initial euphoria has washed off after my first dabble with Linux. I think I am an accomplished programmer and have been programming in c, c++ for the last 7 years in the Windows environment, and then before that for a couple of years on Irix. I have been trying to install some C++ IDEs on my Linux, and having such a crappy time doing it. I just don't get why Linux is so hyped up when even basic installs are such a pain! I got KDevelop using Synaptic, but can never get even the basic HelloWorld program to compile, I thought maybe I'll try a more mature product with some proper documentation, and tried Qt, and can't even finish the damned convoluted installation process. The "make" finishes with tons of errors, and so does the "make install" part. Then I can't append the new path variable line to the "environment" file (bash: environment: Permission denied, I even tried it with the sudo prefix) which the Qt doc conveniently forgot should be the one to replace for Ubuntu shells instead of the .profile.

So, I'm left with all this semi-installed crap on my system trying to figure out whether to just re-install Ubuntu, or get a degree in uninstalling crap from Linux. At least Windows gives you what you expect.

In the end, I'm left with a desire to really figure out, what drives people who love Linux so much? And why? Apart from the fact that it's free, and has a few installed things that run OK, to me, it's the equivalent of every man carrying their own bridge and assembling it every-time they need to cross a river. With windows it's civilized - the state collects taxes and builds the bridge for you.

Thanks

lnostdal
March 28th, 2007, 05:22 AM
*sigh* .. I'm tired of saying this: Why on earth are you installing stuff from source? Do .. not .. do .. that!

For QT development: