PDA

View Full Version : Vista almost as good as Linux

m.musashi
March 26th, 2007, 05:06 PM
Warning. The below is not a professional review. It is supposed to be a joke. I think a few people took me seriously. If you have read the many "Linux isn't ready for the desktop" threads then you should get the joke. I suppose I should have posted it in a windows forum for maximum effect but I don't belong to any windows forums:).

I have been using computers for over 20 years - Linux, Mac and Windows. I am not a programmer or system admin but I consider myself a power user. Given my vast experience with computers I thought I'd check out the new OS from MS - Vista. You might have heard of it.

I had a chance to install and play with Vista a bit over the weekend and I have to give MS credit for an OS that is almost ready for the desktop. The install took about an hour. Much shorter than with XP and now only twice as long as Ubuntu. Also, all my hardware was detected - graphics card, sound and networking - which with XP required a separate install. Very nice MS. Ubuntu of course has done this for over a year now, if not longer. The aero interface is also quite nice. It still lacks a true 3d feel like beryl but it's getting there.

There have been some improvements in security as well - although it seems to be just a reactionary solution rather than a true fix. Vista now requires you to "approve" installations and changes to the system. In this way, users will have to approve malicious code before it can exploit flaws in the OS. However, it doesn't require the use of a password and it pops up so often that users will simply get in the habit of clicking continue or disabling it. Yes, you can actually disable the security. And why do I have to approve changing the colors of the desktop? Oh well, after only 6 years of development I suppose we can't expect everything to be perfect.