View Full Version : help please

k0mpresd
March 25th, 2007, 12:08 AM
i am new to linux so please bare w/ me

i installed crosstool and ran sh demo-powerpc970.sh

i also installed a newer version of binutils

i am trying to run these commands:

sudo mount -t squashfs -o loop,ro ubuntu-livecd/casper/filesystem.squashfs mnt/

can someone explain what the above code means?

im also trying to run:

ninux$ alias smake='make ARCH=powerpc CROSS_COMPILE=powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu-'
ninux$ smake
but i get errors

i have the linux image mounted in /mnt/x360

and when i run the second set of code i get:

k0mpresd@k0mp:~/Desktop/linux-2.6.20$ alias smake='make ARCH=powerpc CROSS_COMPILE=powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu-'
k0mpresd@k0mp:~/Desktop/linux-2.6.20$ smake
/home/k0mpresd/Desktop/linux-2.6.20/scripts/gcc-version.sh: line 11: powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc: command not found
/home/k0mpresd/Desktop/linux-2.6.20/scripts/gcc-version.sh: line 12: powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc: command not found
make: powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc: Command not found
/home/k0mpresd/Desktop/linux-2.6.20/scripts/gcc-version.sh: line 11: powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc: command not found
/home/k0mpresd/Desktop/linux-2.6.20/scripts/gcc-version.sh: line 12: powerpc64-unknown-linux-gnu-gcc: command not found
*** 2.6 kernels no longer build correctly with old versions of binutils.
*** Please upgrade your binutils to 2.12.1 or newer
make: *** [checkbin] Error 1
k0mpresd@k0mp:~/Desktop/linux-2.6.20$

can someone help me out? i dont really know what im doing here and am searching for any answers i can get

reference page for what im trying to do ~> http://mydedibox.homelinux.com/modules/smartsection/item.php?itemid=3

nereid
March 25th, 2007, 08:01 AM
Ok, the first command mounts an image to a folder with the squashfs filesystem (man mount for more information).