PDA

View Full Version : Do you use Tomboy daily? What for?

zanglang
March 22nd, 2007, 12:32 AM
/DISCLAIMER/: I am a Gnome SoC 2007 student applicant. I have already submitted my application, but I'm really interested in looking into daily usage patterns among frequent Tomboy users. :)

Explanation on poll:
- You _can_ vote on multiple items. A lot of us use Tomboy for very diverse things. I use it as a light scratch pad yet I also write whole reports with it, for example.
- You _can_ vote on the last option if you don't use Tomboy for a certain reason, or if you hate Tomboy with a passion. Please reply and say why! (But please don't select any other option then... it wouldn't make sense would it.)
- Even if you don't use Tomboy /daily/, but just once a few days, or seldom add things to it but frequently look at the contents in it for reference, please vote as well.

Feel free to comment on this thread any ideas, interesting uses, complain about the sad lack of network awareness... Feel free to flame too, if you really have the urge to. I'd want to know why you dislike Tomboy!

Edit: Wow, I'm getting more responses than I expect. The statistics are turning out to be quite interesting... Thanks a lot guys! :D (But please do vote if you haven't ;))

FyreBrand
March 22nd, 2007, 12:46 AM
I used Tomboy for a little bit to keep track of school notes, lab notes, and code snippets. It was good for what it does and I liked it, but I don't like using mono apps or having mono installed. I'm just not sold on it and there are other applications that don't use mono.

zanglang
March 22nd, 2007, 01:03 AM
I have to agree with you there, actually. VMs like java and mono seem to put an extraordinary load on my aging laptop... but I do believe they'll become more popular and usable in the future when more of us have better machine specs to run them. :)

gabhla
March 22nd, 2007, 01:06 AM
I've used it and liked it; but, use the notes feature in Opera.

groggyboy