PDA

View Full Version : A general music licensing question

K.Mandla
March 20th, 2007, 07:08 AM
Suppose I buy an album -- a normal, big-label release -- and convert it to mp3s for my own use. This isn't to share or anything, it's just as a legitimate backup measure for my own use.

Now suppose over time, the CD becomes defective or damaged, and I throw it out. Am I still legally permitted to keep the mp3s? Or am I required to discard the mp3 versions since the original now-defective media was discarded?

Similarly, suppose I have an album that I no longer listen to, so I sell it or give it away to a friend. Am I permitted to keep the mp3s I made? or are they now illegitimate/illegal?

By the way, these aren't just rhetorical questions. I have three CDs that no longer work in my CD player, even after buffing, and I'm considering tossing them. And I found some mp3s of a CD I gave away a while back.

Thanks in advance.

aysiu
March 20th, 2007, 07:13 AM
I'm no lawyer, but I'd guess the first case (damaged CD) is kosher, but the second case (CD given to friend) is not.

Of course, it depends on whom you ask, and even then it must be supported by legal precedent or some kind of court decision.

Soarer
March 20th, 2007, 10:36 AM
It depends on the jurisdiction.

IANAL, but AFAIK here in the UK all of those would be illegal, as we have no fair use arrangement. I don't believe there is any case law yet, though, but the law is fairly clear so a challenge would probably have to come under Human Rights legislation.

mcduck
March 20th, 2007, 10:36 AM