PDA

View Full Version : Fortran 90 Compiler

nonpareilpearl
March 20th, 2007, 03:18 AM
Hello ^.^

I recently asked a professor if he would be interested in having an undergrad assist with anything, and he said an nice undergrad project would be to edit the compiler flags and etc. of a certain program (to increase speed and efficiency). While poking around to see if there were any Fortran 90 compilers for Ubuntu, I did come across this (http://packages.ubuntu.com/dapper/virtual/fortran-compiler), however I am relatively new to this process. Will either of these work with Fortran 90 code? Is there a Fortran 90 compiler for Ubunu?

Some things I will need to learn: How to manipulate the "makefile", Fortran basics (I have learned C before, so this isn't proving to be too awful but a decent link to a guide is always welcome), and any other info appreciated.

WW
March 20th, 2007, 03:37 AM
Yes, gfortran will work with Fortran-90.

xadder
March 20th, 2007, 08:42 AM
My favourite `small' Fortran-95 is F, which is also easy to install. F is Fortran'95 but without 90% of the historical stuff which still forces compilers to deal with Fortran IV constructs. (i.e. all F programmes are very strict fortran-95 programs, but not vice-versa). See www.fortran.com for more Info on this nice program.

Otherwise g95 is also easy to install (and provides F through compiler flags if wanted!), and free. I like to have F, gfortran and g95 handy - all compilers give different warnings, so this is a great help.

Intel also provide a very good and fast fortran compiler, ifort, which is free for non-commercial use. Faster than gfortran or g95, but of course a license is needed and expensive for commercial use.

sfp100
May 25th, 2010, 06:11 PM
Hi, guys
I have a similar problem, but I need Fortran90 exactly. I try use

REAL :: t, dt, tmax
[...]
DO t=0,tmax,dt
and gfortran sed:

DO t=0,tmax,dt
Warning: Deleted feature: Loop variable at (1) must be integer