PDA

View Full Version : Make a living with Ubuntu (as a programmer/consultant)?

moephan
March 17th, 2007, 07:37 PM
Hello,

I am on the verge of quiting my job at a very large ISV company in the Seattle area. However, I have not decided exactly what to do next, but I am pretty certain that I would like Ubuntu to be central to my efforts. I was thinking that this forum might be able to provide some guidance and feedback to help me think about my next steps.

I currently take home about good money in salary, stock, and bonuses. If possible, I'd like to maintain a similar level of income as I am the sole bread winner for my wife and two kids. My degree is in cognitive psychology, and my experience over the last nine years is in usability and program management for developer tools, though I did have a one year stint on a large scale web project, which included a javascript api. I can write .NET code, and have taught myself Python and RoR. I am not the fastest coder, and my code is not necessarily the most functional and elegant, but I do flatter myself thinking that I am able to identify the real user value in a program, and design and implement a user interface (or API in the case that developers are the users) that very much suits the needs of the user.

So, here are some of my ideas:

1. Create a consultancy that trains Visual Studio dependent developers how to do application development using Ubuntu. I could introduce them to the OS, Python, Glade, RoR, etc... I have in depth knowledge of how they use Visual Studio and how they approach programming, so I think that I could really help them adapt to application development using a new platform.