PDA

View Full Version : PHP Editor?

atraeyu
March 13th, 2007, 06:05 PM
I'm new to Ubuntu, but not to PHP programming. On windows, I did most of my php editing in dreamweaver (which was less than ideal). I'm wondering if there are any great editors out there and what people would recommend?

Thanks!

lnostdal
March 13th, 2007, 07:09 PM
I've heard PHPeclipse recommended.

Mirrorball
March 13th, 2007, 08:50 PM
Eclipse + PDT. PHPeclipse is the old plugin, but PDT is better.

atraeyu
March 14th, 2007, 11:40 PM
Thanks. I'm installing eclipse now. I did a package search for "PDT" but I didn't get any hits. What's PDT?

Mirrorball
March 15th, 2007, 01:25 AM
http://www.eclipse.org/pdt/
Here, it's an Eclipse plugin, it means PHP Development Tools.

atraeyu
March 15th, 2007, 01:43 AM
Thanks! One more question though .... I just tried to run eclipse and got the error "No Java Virtual Machine Installed." .... so I obviously need to install one. I did a package search in synaptic for "Java Virtual Machine" and found a whole lotta packages - but none that are very obviously the one that I want to install.

So ... any suggestion for which JVM I should install to run Eclipse? Thanks.

Mirrorball
March 15th, 2007, 02:15 AM
Search for this package: sun-java6-jre

atraeyu
March 15th, 2007, 01:21 PM
Search for this package: sun-java6-jre

I found sun-java5-jre, but not sun-java6-jre. I installed 5. :)

atraeyu
March 15th, 2007, 02:00 PM
There are two packages to download:

Package Types

There are two types of packages used in the PDT project:

* All in one - includes the complete set of software to start using PDT immediately. This package already has PDT combined with the complete set of prerequisites, eclipse 3.2 sdk, emf, gef, jem and WTP. You will not need anything else
* Runtime - only includes the PDT project builds. There are the prerequisites to install PDT. The following must be downloaded and installed before the PDT can be installed.
o Eclipse Platform
o GEF
o EMF
o JEM