PDA

View Full Version : An open letter from a consumer, to the distributions.

Adamant1988
March 12th, 2007, 02:13 AM
To whom it may concern:

My name is Adam Posey, I'm a resident of Elkins, West Virginia and a GNU/Linux user. I do not run a server nor I do not own a business. What I do have is considerable influence over the buying decisions of other people around me because I am knowledgeable in technology. I have grown very weary of the current state of Linux for the home user. If you're adamant about continuing to ignore this entire demographic then obviously the rest of this letter does not concern you. If you would like to hear my opinions, my needs, my wants and my pleas- then please continue reading.

This is a portion of an email I sent to Red Hat, Canonical, and Novell. It's been BCC'ed to my blog ( http://www.opinunix.blogspot.com (http://www.opinunix.blogspot.com) for those interested). I'm interested in hearing your thoughts on this post. As always, this is my rant, FLAME ON.

hardyn
March 12th, 2007, 02:30 AM
Nice! I think you have it spot on... I think there needs to be more emphasis on free-libre, I would be happy to pay a modest fee for a 'bomber' desktoped linux distro, esp if it gets the updates and harware compatibility rolling a little faster. To counter my argument... i know that free-beer linux is a large attractant to many people...

Your whole blog looks pretty good... i will give the whole thing a read when i get a few more moments....

IYY
March 12th, 2007, 02:35 AM
It's a good letter, well worded, and I do hope that it will have some effect. However, I don't think you should count on it. You see, the home-user market is not as big as you think it is when it comes to Free software. And even if conversions on a mass scale are successful, these users won't be paying much money.

Businesses, on the other hand, pay a lot of money for installation and support.

Dylnuge
March 12th, 2007, 02:40 AM