PDA

View Full Version : Interactive command line tutorial with python

raja
March 10th, 2007, 04:49 PM
Hello everyone,
Seeing some requests for an interactive command line tutorial (like the ruby online tutorial), I wrote this tutor with python. I am relatively new to python and would appreciate comments and advice. Please untar the files to your desktop and run cmd_tutor.py from the terminal. As you can see, cmd_tutor.py parses 'lessons' written in a standard format. So it is very easy to extend this by writing more lessons.
Thanks

Update March 2009 - A new version can be downloaded from google code (http://code.google.com/p/cmd-tutor/).

tkjacobsen
March 10th, 2007, 05:05 PM
Very nice idea.. Just make the break between showing words shorter.. It is very annoying, because it is slower than I read... (And english is not even my native language).

EDIT:
If you add
#!/usr/bin/env python
as the first line.. The file can be executed with ./cmd_tutor.py

raja
March 10th, 2007, 05:08 PM
Very nice idea.. Just make the break between showing words shorter.. It is very annoying, because it is slower than I read... (And english is not even my native language).

Thanks. I am planning to have an optional argument to have it go faster. Of course you can modify the sleep time in the function slowprint to make it faster.

tkjacobsen
March 10th, 2007, 05:21 PM
Thanks. I am planning to have an optional argument to have it go faster. Of course you can modify the sleep time in the function slowprint to make it faster.

I know, but the people who will use it don't.. But it is great if you just add it as a choice when starting the program.

raja
March 10th, 2007, 05:23 PM
I know, but the people who will use it don't.. But it is great if you just add it as a choice when starting the program.

Point well taken. Thanks again for taking the time.

enopepsoo
March 10th, 2007, 05:30 PM