PDA

View Full Version : Object Oriented Windows Programmer Seeks Guidance

JugglesGeese
March 5th, 2007, 05:01 AM
Hi all...

By trade, I'm a .Net programmer under windows. My day job is development and testing of web and windows applications using VB and C#. I like to think that I'm semi well versed in fairly advanced OO techniques such as code separation and design patterns. However, all my time is spent in the trenches of business logic and database programming. Every application I develop seems to gravitate towards the same model:

UI
Presentation
Business Logic
Database Manipulation Code
Data store

I'd like to learn more about programming applications that do not rely on the database model. I'm more interested in system I/O and manipulating file types, specifically audio and video. One project that I have in mind is programming against my video iPod I know there are already a ton of projects out there that I could already use as a template. However, I'd like to begin my learning process with a language I'm already familiar with. Since I'm coming from windows, that narrows my choices to Java and, well, Java.

I guess I've become pretty lazy and complacent while using windows, because every application I ever wanted existed. Now, in linux, I find myself having to fend for myself, and I'd really like to be more self sufficient under linux rather than go crawling back to Micro$oft Window$. So, any resources that anyone could point me in the direction of for my quest would be helpful.

Thanks!

bukwirm
March 5th, 2007, 05:32 AM
If you are interested in lower-level programming, C and C++ are essential. Searching the forums and Google should turn up lots of information and other resources.

pmasiar
March 5th, 2007, 05:48 AM
By trade, I'm a .Net programmer under windows. My day job is development and testing of web and windows applications using VB and C#. (...)