PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Monitors and Productivity

warlock_handler
March 4th, 2007, 09:32 PM
How many monitors do you have?

I am a coder, uses to use win xp till end 2006.. 2007 was my redemption year... and I became a Luser (Linux user) and after few days of testing I settled with uBuntu... I used to have a multiple monitor setup on Win XP but after the uBuntu i didnt have much time to setup my second monitor, so here I am to ask for tips/tricks while using multiple monitors... help me guys

jenhsun
March 4th, 2007, 09:45 PM
Try this one
http://synergy2.sourceforge.net/

Or from your synaptic package manager, type

synergy

to search and install. this software can control both xp and linux, cross-platform.

I have 4 pc, 4 monitor with only one keyboard and mouse.
Copy and paste strings to and from xp or Linux.
Oh, of course. You need a router too.

Very good utility, you better try. :guitar:

kerry_s
March 4th, 2007, 09:57 PM
Twin view is a cinch if you have nvidia, you just install the driver and run> sudo nvidia-xconfig --twinview
done.
gksu nvidia-settings <-nvidia gui settings editor, for fine tunning.

RandomJoe
March 4th, 2007, 11:31 PM
Actually, I have FOUR monitors on my desktop, but the poll only went to three... :) Okay, the fourth isn't normally used - it's the projector for movie-watching!

It really is pretty simple to set up, although it's a LOT easier if the cards are all the same. I have had some real annoyances getting multi-head working when one of the heads is an on-motherboard output (all Dells), some silly tricks are sometimes needed when initially getting things set up.

My 4-head setup is two dual-head nVidia cards, once I figured out what I was doing wrong (which wouldn't have taken so long had I bothered to RTFM) it was a snap to get things going. I didn't use TwinView, though - just Xinerama to get a single continuous desktop. I might play with that one of these days...

kerry_s
March 5th, 2007, 01:28 AM