PDA

View Full Version : Will I suck at programming

Baelfael
March 4th, 2007, 06:21 PM
I plan on someday coding an MMORPG in Java or something. However I am not very good with Math or Algebra. However I have the feeling I'd be good with Physics, and I am very good with Geometry. Will this hinder my dream of coding an MMORPG?

Oh and the MMORPG is going to be 2D isometric if that helps...

tbodine
March 4th, 2007, 06:34 PM
Math and physics especially have nothing to do with programming, unless you're programming something like a math application or a graphics application maybe..

Baelfael
March 4th, 2007, 06:39 PM
Surely Physics and Mathematics play a part in game programming. >_>

Sefrin
March 4th, 2007, 06:39 PM
Math and physics especially have nothing to do with programming, unless you're programming something like a math application or a graphics application maybe..

Sorry, but I have to disagree with you, unless you're just programming GUIs and not any of the underlying code for what you wish to accomplish. Of course, maybe I'm biased as I went to a math oriented University for my Computer Science. When you get to the good stuff it's all math.

Baelfael: Physics is all math. :guitar:

Programming and math really depends on what your end result will be. Usually the surprises come when you get into the middle of a project. Good luck!

tbodine
March 4th, 2007, 06:42 PM
Sure you have to know the basics of math, but you don't need to be good at it to create an application, unless of course it's math oriented.

Baelfael
March 4th, 2007, 06:51 PM
Sorry, but I have to disagree with you, unless you're just programming GUIs and not any of the underlying code for what you wish to accomplish. Of course, maybe I'm biased as I went to a math oriented University for my Computer Science. When you get to the good stuff it's all math.

Baelfael: Physics is all math. :guitar: