PDA

View Full Version : GTK+ using libglade : how do you loop non-stop?

ZDemon
March 4th, 2007, 05:45 PM
Hi guys,

I'm new to GTK+ programming in C. I use the autoconnect signals as well as using the Glade Interface Designer to write my app.

My question is, how do you insert instructions that loop together with gtk_main() ?

Example :

int main()
{
gtk_main();
My_Instructions();
return (0);
}

void My_instructions()
{
}

Now, button clicks and all that are signals. Only if you click them the instructions will run. What if i don't want to click on anything? I want the function My_Instruction to loop continuously without any key presses or button clicks. But of course the signals should still work.

The function My_Instructions() will only work if i quit gtk_main(). Well, of course. Duh.

Any solutions for this? There aren't much tutorials for this subject.

I'd appreciate any links for further studying too.

Thanks for any input.

lnostdal
March 4th, 2007, 06:59 PM
here is an example of threading: http://nostdal.org/~lars/programming/c/gtk-threads.c .. you should be able to figure this out

note that if more than one (more than your main thread) uses gdk/gtk you must use gdk_threads_enter and gdk_threads_leave to avoid problems

edit:
note that the "idle"-functions here might also be suitable for your task: http://developer.gnome.org/doc/API/2.0/glib/glib-The-Main-Event-Loop.html

..it is however important that these instructions (the function you pass to g_idle_add) you insert do not block out for long periods of time causing your gui to be non-responsive to events (you'll need threads, as used above, to be able to handle these cases)

ZDemon
March 4th, 2007, 07:34 PM
Hi there lnostdal,

The example you gave was extremely helpful and taught me how to use threading. Its simple and effective. Extremely nice example.