PDA

View Full Version : Starting to program with C/C++ and OpenGL

Arlanthir
March 4th, 2007, 01:01 AM
First off, I want to state I'm not sure whether I should be posting this here, but I found no better candidate, so as this is really beginner's stuff I decided I should try my luck here, even though searches for this came with no good results...

I'm trying to start checking some OpenGL tutorials to see how far I can go in 3D Development, my first goal being actually compiling something.. This is proving to be quite a task, because I decided to try ubuntu a few weeks ago and I'm no pro at it, even though I'm loving the experience (I hardly log into windows now), so despite having typed (as found in a thread somewhere in this forum answering to a similar question)
sudo apt-get install libglu1-mesa-dev freeglut3-dev mesa-common-dev I cannot run cogl, having the error
bash: cogl: command not found I'd like to know what I'm doing wrong and hopefully a way to do it right!

I expect this to be a no-brainer, so I hope you bare with my noobness =P
Thank you very much!

EDIT: It came to my attention that COGL is in fact a way some university has of compiling OpenGL code.. They made a manual and such.. And following it I came across the cogl command.
You can find it here (http://www.cs.manchester.ac.uk/software/OpenGL/opengl.pdf).

So, how should I try to compile an example? I suppose it should be gcc with some library parameters, right?
If you have handy examples that could help me, please give me some pointers.

Again, thank you very much!

K.Mandla
March 4th, 2007, 01:30 AM
(Hi. I'm just going to shift your thread to the Programming forum, where it will probably attract more attention from people who can help you. ;) )

Arlanthir
March 4th, 2007, 01:35 AM
Thanks, I didn't know where to post it!

Wybiral
March 4th, 2007, 01:50 AM
OK, here's a very simple GLUT + OpenGL program:

#include <GL/glut.h>

#define window_width 640
#define window_height 480

// Main loop