PDA

View Full Version : Ideas for speech about Linux/OSS

K2712
March 1st, 2007, 04:38 PM
I'm taking a public speaking course, and my next assignment is an informative speech about a topic you feel you know better than anyone else in the course. While I am not a linux expert, I have been using arch as my primary OS for ~2 years, and since there are no other obvious computer "geeks" in my class, I thought I would give my speech on Linux and Open Source Software. The biggest problem with this is how to make it interesting for my classmates, most of whom don't use computers for anything more than myspace, facebook, etc...

Any ideas you guys could provide would be great, or if you think this is a hopeless cause, let me know.

Thanks in advance.

fuscia
March 1st, 2007, 05:00 PM
see if you can appeal to the 'smiley-face' mentality. think of all the ways you can appeal to the typical chatroomers. you know, stuff like 'tons of really cool themes', 'way more im software', 'a nano that [i]really rocks', etc.

Bartender
March 1st, 2007, 05:21 PM
Man, I hate public speaking

If you got up there and started speaking about how Linux is cool and it's free and lots of people are starting to use it, I'm guessing it'd be hard to keep their interest.
What about wrapping your speech around the whole FOSS concept?

I mean, we kinda take it for granted - "Oh, Edgy's out now, I think I'll upgrade."

But there's a really exciting story behind that. We're in the midst of a movement unlike anything that I can think of in human history.
Pyramids and dams and other massive construction projects have been driven by egos, slavery, and/or various methods by which people were paid for their labor.
Amazing scientific discoveries, if not accidental, often trace back to one person or a small group of people who had a vision of what might be possible.
Social movements often coalesce around one leader, or are ignited by tyrants.