PDA

View Full Version : Goal: SysAdmin

blairbeckwith
February 28th, 2007, 02:57 AM
Hello,

I am currently 14 years of age (almost 15). After much thought and consideration, I have decided that the job for me is a System Administrator. I have always been interested i computers, and I feel that I am quite adept at using them considering my age.

I have been using HTML for 6 years, and have made a number of different sites, as well as done some graphic designing. I have also dabbled in some programming, mainly Java and Python.

Anyways, enough babbling. With my job choice already made, I truly need your help.

What do I need to learn? Which programming languages? Which skills? In short, what steps do I need to take to reach my goal? Long term, what would be a good program to take in College/University?

Thank you in advance for your answers. I hope to become quite active on this forum.

EDIT: When originally making this post, it was mostly going to be about which languages I needed to learn, but it has since evolved into quite a number of different questions. Please move this topic as you see fit.

pmasiar
February 28th, 2007, 04:39 PM
I have decided that the job for me is a System Administrator.
(...)
I have been using HTML for 6 years, and have made a number of different sites, as well as done some graphic designing. I have also dabbled in some programming, mainly Java and Python.
(...)
What do I need to learn? Which programming languages? Which skills? In short, what steps do I need to take to reach my goal? Long term, what would be a good program to take in College/University?.

IMHO you restricted your choices too early. If current trend in outsourcing will continue, and broadband will becoame cheaper , when you graduate in 10 years, one of the requirements for sysadmin might be to live in India or China :-)