PDA

View Full Version : Open Source Total War Clone: Community Help Requested

dyous87
February 27th, 2007, 02:08 AM
http://scratchpad.wikia.com/wiki/Dark_Ages:_Conquest

I want to start an open source project cloning the Medieval Total; Rome Total War series. I have plenty of art work and story ideas but I am not much of a coder myself and I want to build a community in order to get this project started. Anyone who would be interested in being part of such a project please look at the above temp wiki and emai me at dyous87@gmail.com

Thank,
David

BWF89
February 27th, 2007, 03:37 AM
I think i played a demo of that game at Gamestop. It was pretty cool. I'm not a coder but wish you luck in your project. Can't wait to play it if you manage to get it worked out.

dyous87
March 1st, 2007, 07:20 AM
I've added some screen shots of some of the progress I made but I still need help especially as far as coding and programming go. There's gotte be someone on this forum who is interested in working on a project like this.

Visit: http://scratchpad.wikia.com/wiki/Dark_Ages:_Conquest to view some of the screenshots and for more information.

tbroderick
March 5th, 2007, 08:57 AM
I'm not a programmer but you should look into using the Stratagus engine. It's seems a little more like AOE then Total War though,

http://stratagus.org/

v8YKxgHe
March 5th, 2007, 09:07 AM
I'm not a programmer but you should look into using the Stratagus engine. It's seems a little more like AOE then Total War though,

http://stratagus.org/

Another great open-source engine is FIFEngine (http://www.fifengine.de/) - the mad thing is the guy who is making the entire engine is only 15/16 !!

jclmusic
March 5th, 2007, 11:02 AM
i preffered the shogun one, any chance of a clone of that? actually it'd be better if you could just have different music, units etc at ur choosing.

dyous87
March 5th, 2007, 04:42 PM
Thanks guys, the Stratagus and FIFEngine engines look pretty interesting and may be able to be used.