PDA

View Full Version : What computer stuff should I learn/start to learn??

billdotson
February 25th, 2007, 11:29 PM
When I started playing around with Ubuntu I have been learning lots of stuff about computers that I never knew before. This has really started to interest me and I want to learn more things. I haven't decided a major yet but I know I want to be doing something with computers most of the time.

I have been wanting to learn networking and networking protocols, programming (thinking about doing Python), BASH shell, DOS shell, webpage design and creation, multimedia stuff like creating videos and learning about the advantages+disadvantages of the codecs and file types, etc., how computer hardware operates and communicates with software+the OS, getting good with Windows, Linux OS's, Mac OS's, and a big goal/thing I would like to do is to be able to build my own (simple) GUI OS if it won't take me ten years to do it. I also have a Linux from Scratch and a Gentoo LiveCD and I was thinking of using one of them to build a Linux OS from the ground up.

I know those categories are HUGE in themselves but I just want to try and learn alot about everything as I have a lot of spare time between classes and two years before I actually have to pick a major. What should I start to learn first? I really have none that interests me anymore than the other but I would like to start at the easiest stuff and move up so I don't start off reading about a bunch of terminology I don't understand. I am not computer ignorant and I would say that I am decent with PCs as I have been using them for 10-12 years now but I would like to start learning more.

Any suggestions as where to start and what texts/tutorials to look at/read? As I said I want to start of slow and not jump into something like programming if I don't understand half of the terminology

muguwmp67
February 26th, 2007, 12:22 AM
I have Ubuntu Unleashed next to my bedstand along with O'Reilly's Running Linux