PDA

View Full Version : ESR is right. I'm moving to Ubuntu

elmerfud
February 24th, 2007, 05:13 PM
I agree with ESR about Fedora. I've been on the verge of moving away from Fedora for a while now. Its the little things. Updates get issued that aren't fully tested. Sometimes updates are very slow in arriving, even though they are out in the Linux world for other distributions, etc.

Bottom line: Fedora ISN'T a "just works" distribution. Fedora is a bleeding edge distribution. Ubuntu looks much more ready to use, rather than something that needs to be tweaked before it can be used.

Its time for me to change.

elmerfud
February 24th, 2007, 05:41 PM
Here is an example. I'm a developer and I use kwrite a lot for editing various things.

Every time I run kwrite in konsole, I get this sort of crap on the command line. I've complained about this for years. And when I quit kwrite and type another command on the command line, kwrite spews stuff out while I am typing. Nobody seems to care.

$ kwrite
kio (KSycoca): Trying to open ksycoca from /var/tmp/kdecache-krlux/ksycoca
kio (KTrader): query for KTextEditor/Plugin : returning 5 offers
kio (KDirWatch): Available methods: Stat, Inotify
kwrite: Inserted command:script-indent-c-char
kwrite: Inserted command:script-indent-c-newline
kwrite: Inserted command:jstest
kwrite: Inserted command:sort
kwrite: Inserted command:indent
kwrite: Inserted command:unindent
kwrite: Inserted command:cleanindent
kwrite: Inserted command:comment
kwrite: Inserted command:uncomment
kwrite: Inserted command:goto
kwrite: Inserted command:kill-line
kwrite: Inserted command:set-tab-width
kwrite: Inserted command:set-replace-tabs
kwrite: Inserted command:set-show-tabs
kwrite: Inserted command:set-remove-trailing-space
kwrite: Inserted command:set-indent-spaces
kwrite: Inserted command:set-indent-width
kwrite: Inserted command:set-mixed-indent
kwrite: Inserted command:set-indent-mode
kwrite: Inserted command:set-auto-indent