PDA

View Full Version : Why Python?

liviubero
February 24th, 2007, 04:48 PM
Hello,
I am new to Ubuntu and Linux, but got excited about this project and thinking to replace completely Windows with Ubuntu. Actually, I use Windows only for a few application with which I am already used (like Dreamweaver for its css and php support).
I bought myself the official Ubuntu book and I like it. I like the whole idea. Actually I love it.
I just read there in chapter 1.3.2 about the project's "concentration on Python as the only programming language with which the whole system can be build up and extended" (I have it in German, so perhaps my English translation isn't the best one).

My wish now is to start learning to program. (Hopefully I will be accepted in the Softwaretechnik University in Stuttgart and thus become a diplomed programmer). I learn right now PHP and I wanted also to start learning a programing language (not a server side one), so that I can write desktop and network applications. In this order, I was thinking about Java.
But now, I read in the Ubuntu official book about Python. And before starting to learn Python, I have a few questions. I cannot just start learning anything. The time I have doesn't leave me to just play around with things. So I have to be very practical. That is, I have to decide myself to begin with only one programing language and when I can master it, then try others.
My question is:
Why Python?
What makes it to the "only programing language" (as the book tells)?

.... I hope that my English is understandable.

ssam
February 24th, 2007, 05:17 PM
most of the software in ubuntu is written in C/C++ (eg the kernel, gnome, firefox etc). python is used for some of the ubuntu specific tools like ubiquity (the GUI installer).

Java has never been included in ubuntu by default for licencing reasons (the licencing is currently being changed, so this may change in the future).