PDA

View Full Version : My Linux/Windows conundrum

zeroblitzt
February 24th, 2007, 03:37 PM
Well, here I sit, not knowing what to do.

Linux has almost fully replaced my Windows set up. There are still a few choice things though (games, certain applications) that I can't replace (yet...). So, instead of just settling for having a dual boot, I looked into things like VMware. But this is where I hit a snag.

If I installed VMware and it ran totally fine, I think I'd be inclined to totally delete Windows. But I'm kind of nervous at going that far. I mean, what if theres a major breakdown in my Ubuntu box? I know you're probably thinking "the same thing can happen on Windows", its just its a little more nerveracking for me on Linux (i'm no n00b but im no expert either).

And even if I didnt go that far and left it at a dual boot, I'd like to format my /dev/hdb1, which is 80 gigs of all my music and programs for Windows. That way I can free up more space for Linux programs and such.

I'm not sure what to do here. I don't need technical help, I need plain old psych. advice. What do you think I should do?

insane_alien
February 24th, 2007, 03:44 PM
i'd say keep on dual booting. if you're not so confident on linux yet then just wait. took me months to fully go over to linux.

antenna
February 24th, 2007, 03:47 PM
VMware works great, but Just be aware that 3D acceleration is not available in it so more than likely you still have to find a different solution for your games.

Personally I got rid of Windows after about a month, and sure I wasn't an expert with Linux but I had the basics down, and could get online without a GUI, etc. I don't think you have a whole lot to worry about, particularly if you have a Live CD around or some other means of connecting to the internet and so can find out how to fix major problems.

Having said that, there's not much harm in dual booting.

chewearn
February 24th, 2007, 03:47 PM