PDA

View Full Version : Colour management

chaosmedia
February 22nd, 2007, 09:43 PM
Hi,
I'm pretty new to Ubuntu (and Linux in general) and have a few questions regarding colour management. I just started to get to grips (a little at least) with it all in Windows and then I switched to Ubuntu to make everything more complicated.. ;-)

I have a premade ICC profile, which I created on my dual-boot Windows installation using a Greag-Macbeth Eye-One Display 2, which i put in /usr/share/color/icc. The question I have is which the best way to load it into the LUT would be? Currently I downloaded xcalib and run the following as a startup program in my Gnome session:

xcalib -d :0 -s 0 -v /usr/share/color/icc/Monitor_2007-02-10_1.icc

There's just so many ways to do things (like using LProf), that I ge confused if I'm either not doing it the best way or if I'm simply doing it wrong.. :confused:

Also, I downloaded the ICC profiles for Scribus and I think I've setup everything correctly in there, but I was also under the impression that Inkscape would support colour management but I couldn't find any settings for choosing a profile. Same thing about Xara Xtreme..

Cheers,
Henrik

tiggs_the_cat
February 26th, 2007, 06:54 AM
Hello,

I can't give you an answer but I'd be interested in this too, so I'm bumping this thread up. :D

mixersoft
September 8th, 2007, 09:15 AM
same problem. bump.

gigake
September 10th, 2007, 07:08 PM
bump

jcornuz
September 11th, 2007, 05:03 PM
OK, I'll try to give an answer :)

I do photography under linux (see my site down there) and I managed a satisfying workflow.

1) create a monitor profile (under winXP, but some hardware is also supported by Linux, AFAIK).
2) load it with xcalib (I have a script which I run if needed so I can check that the data is indeed loaded; there is a command to remove any LUT information, check xcalib --help).