PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu Handbook

darthsabbath
May 24th, 2005, 06:01 AM
Hey all,

I was wondering if there were any plans for an Ubuntu handbook.... basically a compilation of all the collective wisdom of the Ubuntu Guide, the HOWTOs, the WIKI, etc., to help get people up and running with Ubuntu (maybe that'd be a good title!). Basically, an online book that would take a user through installation and setting up the system, to basic usage (Firefox, OpenOffice, etc.), setting up printers, SAMBA, and what have you.

Yeah, I know the information is out there, but it would be nice to have it all in one place.

As a matter of fact, if there'd be enough interest, I may even make an attempt to get started on this myself. Dunno if one person could handle such a massive project (as I'm no expert in many necessary topics), but I'd definitely be willing to get it going, and help out as much as possible.

I want to help out Ubuntu, and I thought this might be a good way.

Thoughts?

Phil

jiyuu0
May 24th, 2005, 06:25 AM
What i have planed is not a handbook but instead...

Ubuntu Training Material (Presentation Slides) + Coursebook

It's part of my upcoming project for the community :)

Basically the material should cover:

1) Brief technical theory + Installation + Live CD + Dual boot
2) Desktop + Networking + Internet + Printer Configurations
3) Open Source Applications (Linux/Windows)
4) OpenOffice (Basics)

Once I've finished my lastest updates on the Add-On-CD (which is part of the training material too), am going to start working on this immediately.
*Currently uploading the Add-On-CD (snapshot 2005-05-23) and doing some final testing on it

Will keep you guys posted. Hopefully this will turn out a good one too :)

darthsabbath
May 24th, 2005, 05:34 PM
What i have planed is not a handbook but instead...

Ubuntu Training Material (Presentation Slides) + Coursebook

It's part of my upcoming project for the community :)

Basically the material should cover: