PDA

View Full Version : Javac problem

Chaos-Energy
February 19th, 2007, 12:14 AM
I used the following commands to set my paths

export JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/jdk1.5.0_11
export PATH=$JAVA_HOME/bin:$PATH

and everything works great (javac & java) but when I exit the terminal, restart it and try javac again it says "command not found". "java" still works but it already worked before I set the paths. It's like it forgets me setting the paths. :S

gtratter
February 19th, 2007, 12:30 AM
I am just a beginner so hopefully what I say is true.
this is your code"

I don't see were you set your path, i.e.

JAVA_HOME=$PATH /usr/java/jdk1.5.0_11
export JAVA_HOME

and then I am not sure about your second line...so others will help out....

Kingsley
February 19th, 2007, 12:35 AM
Try
export JAVA_HOME='/usr/java/jdk1.5.0_11'
PATH=.:$JAVA_HOME/bin:$JAVA_HOME/jre/bin:$PATH

And then type "source .bashrc" into the terminal.

Chaos-Energy
February 19th, 2007, 01:38 AM
Still the same problem. :(

Unterseeboot_234
February 19th, 2007, 11:04 AM
Boy, the java paths seems to be a big deal on Ubuntu. Be aware there are three approches.

1. The IDEs such as NetBeans and Eclipse work because they slam the full pathname to the myjava_1.6/bin to find javac, java_vm, appletviewer, etc. every time you hit the Run button.

2. I never had luck modifying the CENTRAL .bash source file within ubuntu so any terminal window you open after that edit will have the correct paths. If you've ever done a .bat file to double-click in Windows while doing java, you can do the same thing with a shell script that you save inside whatever project folder. I prefer this way, because I can make sure the final java will work with the libraries and jars I am going to deploy.

#!/bin/sh
JAVA_HOME="/home/vcbrad/jdk1.5.0_10"
PATH=$JAVA_HOME/bin:$PATH
export PATH JAVA_HOME

java -version
java -classpath ./:/home/vcbrad/javaWork_1_5/java_stoffPlan_4/xperiments/stoffPlan_x_Mar01
java StoffPlanDesk