PDA

View Full Version : Going to build a PC, hardware people chime in

lloyd mcclendon
February 18th, 2007, 08:24 PM
My laptop is getting dated, time for an upgrade & I want to build a desktop. I've never done this before and am not much of a hardware geek. I don't play games but run a web & database server (no serious load or anything) and do development with eclipse.

This is what i've come up with so far, what i tried to do was pick stuff on new egg that has a lot of good reviews. i think 2 gigs of ram and a fast hard drive is important for what i do.

case: Antec LifeStyle SONATA II Piano Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 450Watt SmartPower 2.0 Power Supply $99.99 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16811129155)

processor: AMD Opteron 165 Denmark 1.8GHz Socket 939 Dual Core Processor $179.00 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16819103588)

mobo: ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce SPP 100 ATX AMD Motherboard $149.00 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16813131568)

ram: OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory $215.99 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16820227210)

hd: Western Digital Raptor WD740ADFD 74GB 10,000 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive $159.99 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16822136033)

cd: SAMSUNG 18X DVD±R DVD Burner With 12X DVD-RAM Write, LightScribe Technology Black IDE Model $39.99 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16827151136)

video: ATI 100-437602 Radeon X1300PRO 256MB GDDR2 AGP 4X/8X Video Card $109.99 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16814102677) -- no idea about this but it looks ok & is cheap.

$984 w/ shipping .. thoughts?