PDA

View Full Version : Philosophy: Why Zealotry is Bad for Open-Source

Abaddon
February 12th, 2007, 06:16 AM
Just a few random thoughts that have been bumping around my head since starting with Ubuntu (and Linux in general) last year. Your mileage may vary.

I'm not a programmer or an electronic engineer, but I consider myself to be a fairly experienced computer user - I don't have any dramas fixing most software problems without outside assistance.

Why did I make the switch?

A few reasons:

1) I hate my computer treating me like it knows best.
2) My computer is getting long in the tooth, and Windows is grinding to a halt. My wife, who is a profound technophobe copes poorly with even the minor changes to her settings when I format and reinstall.
3) I have a healthy dislike for Microsoft products - not because I feel they are the evil empire, but just because they don't work for me as well as they should. Case in point, my Windows Mobile 5 PocketPC (bought this rather than a Palm because a program I use for work daily is PPC only) suffers the reminder bug - well documented, widely complained about and completely breaks the organiser functionality. Have microsoft fixed it yet? No.
4) Malware

If Windows wasn't so bloated and redundant, I'd be more than happy running it. If I didn't have to hack the registry to get programs to install somewhere different from where Microsoft thinks I should put them, then fine. If my damn PDA would ping to remind me about my appointments, I'd be delighted.

So I made the switch.

I've found Ubuntu much better - not perfect mind, but better. Particularly annoying:
* Still no control over where that .deb goes