PDA

View Full Version : a variation on the random wallpaper script

cafine-fish
February 11th, 2007, 07:32 PM
i had done allot of searching and couldn't find a random wallpaper script that behaved the way i wanted it to. so i wrote my own :) and thought i would share it just in case some one else is looking for what i was. i am also a little proud of this being that i am not really a programmer.

first off i wanted a random wallpaper changer. there are a number of options out there to do just this. but i also wanted to be sure that all my wonderful wallpapers had equal screen time. basically i wanted to make a randomized "play list" of wallpapers to go through one at a time and then reshuffle when the last one was "played". randomizing the play list was the hard part. in the end i installed the randomize-lines package. which does exactly what i needed. so here is the code:

#!/bin/bash

#file locations using full path for crontab execution
ImagePath=/home/USERNAME/pictures/wallpaper #directory of images to use
DataFile=/home/USERNAME/bin/wpc.data #where to keep the list of images
TempFile=/home/USERNAME/bin/wpc.temp #temp file to use in removing a line from the list of images

#function to make the randomized list of images
make_list ()
{
ls $ImagePath > $DataFile #get a list of images
rl $DataFile > $TempFile #mix them all up
mv $TempFile $DataFile #make the mixed up list the list to use
}

#function to change the wallpaper, and update the list of images
change_wall ()
{
ImageFile=$(sed -n '1p' $DataFile) #get the first line from the list of images
gconftool -t string -s /desktop/gnome/background/picture_filename "$ImagePath/$ImageFile" #change the wallpaper
gconftool -t string -s /desktop/gnome/background/picture_options "centered" #it's how i like my wallpapers
sed -e '1d' $DataFile > $TempFile #remove the image we just used
mv $TempFile $DataFile #update the image list
}

if test ! -s "$DataFile" #if the image list doesn't exist we make it
then
make_list
fi