PDA

View Full Version : Look at the History of Linux, then you know the way to success

Tank90
February 8th, 2007, 04:36 PM
Hello folks,

I'm a pretty new Linux user. I've been using Ubuntu for about 6 months and although I still need Windows on my laptop and on a separate partition (for school work and programming), I'm primarily using Ubuntu.

I think the Linux developers should look at the history of Linux itself to see what brings success. Without Apache, Linux would have been close to nothing by now. It would never have become this popular as a server platform. So, what I think you need to actually get Windows users to migrate is the one-and-only killer application.

I'm a student, I write a lot of reports. So when my teacher told me about LaTeX and LyX I decided to try out Linux (again really, since I have toyed around with Linux installations before). The first thing I did (after having a lot of trouble with the installation) was to install LyX. I was extremely happy with LyX. But! Its UI is also extremely outdated, inconsistent and generally a pain to use because it doesn't fit with the Gnome desktop.

I quickly started to look for Gnome ports of LyX but didn't find anything but dead projects. In my search for a Gnome UI I found TeXmacs which I love. To me, It's an improved version of LyX that makes it much easier to use it as a general document/essay/report writing tool. But again, TeXmacs looks like something from 1975. The concept and implementation is ingenious, but the interface and promotion is terrible. What Ubuntu needs is to take a project like TeXmacs, update the interface to use Gnome, optimize the code, maybe merge it with an application like Gobby (which is ingenious too, it's great for school work!) and promote it as "the" application for Ubuntu. Make it easy to use, updated, good-looking (those Tango icons are great) and integrate it into the rest of the system. Why should something like this be done?